Not Special Needs, Just Human Needs

Previous articles

June, 2017

We are more than ready to describe children as having "special needs". CoorDown National Coordination of Associations of People with Down syndrome has created a short film for this year's World Down Syndrome Day. The video humorously challenges our preconception are these needs really so "special"?

Read moreV

The video opens with an article entitled "People with Down syndrome have special needs", followed by a girl with Down syndrome who looks into the camera and questions in a sincere but surprised tone, "Special needs? Really?" The ridiculous scenarios that come after reveal her idea of "special needs", for example...

If people with Down syndrome needed to eat dinosaur eggs... "If people with Down syndrome needed to eat dinosaur eggs..."
If we needed to wear a giant suit of armour... "If we needed to wear a giant suit of armour..."
If we needed to be massaged by a cat... "If we needed to be massaged by a cat..."

The girl concludes, "That (eating dinosaur eggs, having kitten massage, shopping in armour etc.) would be special. But what we really need is education, jobs, opportunities, friends and some love just like everybody else. Are these needs special? These are human needs, not special needs."

Not special needs, just human needs Not special needs, just human needs

Wong Lai Ming is a member of the Hong Kong Joint Council of Parents of the Mentally Handicapped and her thirty-year-old daughter has intellectual and mild physical disabilities. "We have been labelled for having special needs for years. When she was small, she couldn't catch up with others and was admitted to a special school. Over the nine years there, we have met many schoolmates with different levels of abilities – ranging from physical, to sensory or intellectual – and such variances can hardly be summed up by a single word 'special'."

She feels rather uneasy about the word, "'Special' can be neutral or affirmative in English; but not so much in Chinese because the word has a pejorative connotation." She understands that these children need extra assistance, but they also yearn for help in a fair and unpatronising manner.

"Not necessarily special help, but help that can be of use to everyone. For instance, students with hand spasticity cannot push open washroom doors in shopping malls and can only wait for others to come to their aid. You can go over to give a hand of course, but if there are more barrier-free facilities available, they will be able to manage without asking for help. It is very important that these facilities can enhance their self-esteem in everyday life while being of use to others without disabilities."

"My daughter may have more hurdles to overcome but, instead of being taken care of all the time, she wants the opportunities to demonstrate her abilities and live a fair and independent life. As a matter of fact, she and her friends can go a long way with simple instructions and training for most of the time. Yet, they are not so strong in communication and most people do not care enough to try to understand," says Wong Lai Ming.

Wendy Leung, Service Manager of St. James' Settlement Uncle James Child Development Centre, also resonates with the video. While the short clip features people with Down syndrome, the rationale of the campaign also applies to other SEN children, such as those with autistic disorder or AD/HD.

Wendy Leung has met a lot of helpless parents whose children are classified as aliens or threats to classroom discipline in schools. "All of us have our own needs and every need is unique. In fact, SEN children have more similarities than differences with other children. Just as the narrator girl says, education, jobs, and friends are not 'special needs' but their pursuits are met with more obstacles. They need assistance but, more importantly, opportunities and respect."

As Wendy Leung recalls, a parent once had to reassure an unacquainted diner who turned teary-eyed because her child had a tantrum in a restaurant. "Most children have moments of temper, just that SEN children can get cranky more easily than others. Parents just want to be treated normally and receive help in times of need, like everybody else. Sometimes, caring can become over-caring and pity can cause stress. The best way, after all, is to treat with composure."

Text: So Mei Chi
Translation: Yoyo Chan

Previous articles

Contact Us

If you have any enquiries or suggestions, please fill in the form below and press "Submit", we would respond to you as soon as possible, thank you!

不是特殊需要,只是人的需要

前期文章

2017年6月

我们习惯为一些孩子冠上「特殊需要」这四个字,用英文説就是“Special needs”。不过在今年的世界唐氏综合症日,欧洲关注唐氏综合症组织CoorDown(National Coordination of Associations of People with Down syndrome)却试图用一条幽默短片来颠覆固有观念 那些真箇是「特殊」需要吗?

往下阅读V

短片开端是一篇题为「唐氏综合症的人有特殊需要」的报道,然後一位唐氏女孩面向镜头,带着诚恳但又难以置信的口吻问:「特殊需要,真的吗?」接下来导演铺陈出各种荒谬情景,讲述怎样才是女孩心中的「特殊需要」,譬如説……

「如果唐氏的人,要吃恐龙蛋……」 「如果唐氏的人,要吃恐龙蛋……」
「如果我们都要穿上大盔甲……」 「如果我们都要穿上大盔甲……」
「如果我们需要猫咪来按摩……」 「如果我们需要猫咪来按摩……」

最後女孩结论:「那些(吃恐龙蛋、猫咪按摩、穿盔甲等)才叫特殊需要,但我们真正需要的只是教育、工作和机会、朋友和爱,像任何一个人。这些是人的需要,不是特殊需要。」

不是特殊需要,只是人的需要 不是特殊需要,只是人的需要

黄丽明是香港弱智人士家长联会成员,她的三十岁女儿有智力兼轻度肢体障碍。 「特殊需要这个标签跟了我们很久。小时候她读书跟不上,在特殊学校待了九年,发现同学的能力个个不一样,有肢体的、有感官的、有智能的,很难简单地以『特殊』来概括。」

对於「特殊」二字,她常常有一种不良感觉,「英文的“special”可以用来説好东西,但中文的『特殊』就不是,觉得被贬低。」她明白这些孩子确实比别人需要更多帮助,但就渴望平等的帮助方式。

「未必是特别的帮助,而是所有人都用得着的帮助。譬如手部痉挛的同学无法推开商场厕所门,只能乾站等人伸出援手。你可以跑过去帮他们开门,但如果有更多无障碍设施,他们根本不必事事求人,提升生活的自尊感,而且一般人也用得着那些设施。这非常重要。」

「我的女儿有很多不足,但她介意一味被照顾,希望得到机会表现自己的能力,活得平等和自主。其实很多时候,她和她的朋友只需要简单的指引和训练,已经做到很多,只是表达能力不强,人们也不尝试去了解。」黄丽明説。

圣雅各福群会乐宁儿童发展中心服务经理梁翠云认同,短片主角虽然是唐氏综合症人士,但同一个説法,也适用於自闭症和过度活跃症等SEN孩子。

她在中心遇过很多无助的家长,他们的孩子在学校被标籤成异类,被视作危害课堂秩序的洪水猛兽。「人人都有自己的需要,个个的需要都不同。SEN孩子确实有些地方跟一般孩子不一样,但相同的更多。像片中女孩説的教育、工作和朋友,都谈不上『特殊需要』,但争取过程却往往比其他人困难。他们固然需要支援,但更需要机会和尊重。」

有家长告诉梁翠云,在餐厅吃饭时孩子闹别扭,却遇上旁人心酸的泪眼,差不多要倒过来安慰对方。 「其实一般小朋友也会闹别扭,只是SEN孩子可能更容易激动。家长也希望得到正常对待,毋需过度呵护,只在有需要时帮一把,像帮助一般人那样。毕竟,有时同情眼光也是压力,平常心是最好的相处方式。」

撰文:苏美智

前期文章

联络我们

如有任何查询或意见,请填妥下列表格,再按「递交」,我们将会尽快回覆,谢谢!