Why are there more and more children with special educational needs?

Previous articles

December, 2016

Why are there more and more children with special educational needs (SEN)? Seems like there is always one around?

As the doctor says...

From Autism to Autism Spectrum Disorder

Psychiatrist Dr. Ho Ting Pong explains that the increase in prevalence of SEN has to be understood in light of different SEN categories individually.

In regard to autism, parents may have realised that “Autism spectrum disorder”, instead of “autism”, is more spoken of nowadays. “The medical sector has relaxed the diagnostic criteria by including some of the milder symptoms, which were not considered autistic previously, into the spectrum. A sudden surge of incidence rate was thus created.” says Dr. Ho Ting Pong.

“Autism spectrum disorder” is a revision made in the fifth version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) in 2013. According to the new diagnostic criteria, autistic disorder, Asperger syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder – not otherwise specified (PDD-NOS) are now included as part of autism spectrum disorder. The manual offers standard criteria for the classification of mental disorders in the United States and a range of other countries, including Hong Kong.

“In fact, no significant increase is seen for severe cases as most additional cases belong to the newly included categories in the spectrum. Is such relaxation of criteria good? Different people have a different take on it. While some parents may not entertain the idea of labelling their children as “autistic”, the new spectrum, from a medical perspective, allows more precise medical care for children and therefore facilitates the upbringing of more children in addition to attending to the more severe ones.”

Attention Deficit/ Hyperactivity Disorder

Attention Deficit/ Hyperactivity Disorder (AD/HD) is another story – the criteria and methods of diagnosis have remained more or less the same over the last three decades. Neither has the medical sector understood its pathologic foundation differently. “Increase in cases can be attributed to, instead of doctors, the better awareness and knowledge amongst the general public.”

Dr. Ho Ting Pong believes that the positive drug reaction and the availability of complementary trainings and therapies promise a rather effective treatment for AD/HD. “In the past, only severe cases would come to us; nowadays, more teachers and parents bring their children over probably because they have learnt of the possibility of being treated.”

Most adults hope their children can focus and maintain concentration during studies. Would energetic or active children be diagnosed as patients? “According to the manual, doctor has to count the number of symptoms, calculate the duration of the disorder, understand the context of the onset of the disorder, and evaluate the impact of symptoms on daily life, such as social interaction and learning performance. As long as the diagnosis complies with the criteria, no typical child will be mistaken as patient. The manual also emphasises that being energetic does not count as an AD/HD symptom.”

Dr. Ho Ting Pong has encountered two types of parents in his clinic – some refuse to accept the diagnosis of AD/HD of their children, while some protest against a negative result. “Both groups of parents have different thoughts behind their reactions. Likewise, doctors can only diagnose in compliance with the criteria set forth in the DSM-5.”

Dyslexia

A significant increase has also been observed for dyslexia, mainly due to the improvement of identification tools. Dr. Ho Ting Pong explains, “When I first started as a psychiatrist, the screening test for dyslexia was only available in English, but Chinese mainly use Chinese. These two languages vary in terms of pronunciation, morphology, and grammar, meaning different wirings of the brain may be involved. The straightforward duplication of the diagnostic methods of the Anglophone world was therefore highly doubted.”

The doubt was finally dealt with by the Hong Kong Specific Learning Difficulties Research Team, led by Prof. Connie Ho Suk Han of the Department of Psychology of the University of Hong Kong. Established in 1998, the team has developed a number of screening and assessment tools for dyslexia in Chinese with continuous updating. "A well-recognised testing tool has surely helped to identify more cases."

Regardless of the reasons for the rising number of cases, the moment of diagnosis is always tough for parents. While Dr. Ho Ting Pong encourages parents to look for and share with people with similar experience, he also reminds parents to select online resources cautiously, preferably those that have an impartial perspective. “In my clinic, I often meet parents who are terrified by certain online discussions. These discussions may not be all wrong, but some are rather extreme and one-sided. Not only are they incapable of pacifying parents with no prior experience with SEN issues, they may even cause parents to refuse help and therefore miss a prime opportunity for therapy.”

Text: So Mei Chi
Illustration: Tamshui
Translation: Yoyo Chan

Previous articles

Contact Us

If you have any enquiries or suggestions, please fill in the form below and press "Submit", we would respond to you as soon as possible, thank you!

有特殊教育需要的小朋友愈来愈多?

前期文章

2016年12月

为什么有特殊教育需要(SEN)的小朋友愈来愈多?好像总有一个在左近?

医生这样说⋯

从自闭症到自闭症谱系

精神科专科医生何定邦说,要拆解这个「愈来愈多」的印象,得把不同的SEN类别分开来看。

有关自闭症,也许家长已经发现,现在听得最多的不再是「自闭症」而是「自闭症谱系障碍」。「那是因为医学界放宽了诊断守则,把一些轻微的徵状,从前不算成自闭症的,也都放进谱系,於是病发率看来一下子增加很多。」何定邦医生说。

「自闭症谱系障碍」是精神疾病诊断与统计手册-第五版(DSM-5)在2013年的修订,在新诊断守则下,自闭症、亚氏保加症、待分类的广泛性发展障碍等,全部纳入谱系。这手册是美国等多个国家诊断精神疾病的指导手册,也为香港医生所沿用。

「其实在整个谱系里,严重个案没有显著增加,增加最多都是新纳入的个案。至於这样放宽标準好不好?我想每个人的看法都不同,譬如不是每个家长都喜欢为小朋友贴上『自闭』标籤,但是从医学角度来看,这样便可以更警觉地为孩子配对服务,帮助他们成长,不只关顾严重的那群。」

专注力不足/过度活跃症

专注力不足/过度活跃症是另一个故事。过去叁十年来,它的断症守则与方式大同小异,医学界对其病理基础的理解也没多大变化。「所以个案增多,问题不在医生,而是大家的认知提高了。」

何定邦医生说,这个症对药物反应好,配合其他训练和治疗,在医学上往往有颇高的治疗机会。「从前只有严重的病症会找上来,现在也许因为知道『有得医』,更多老师和家长带小朋友来。」

至於大人对孩子专注学习盼望殷切,会否把活泼好动也当成病徵,把孩子当病人?「根据守则,医生断症时必须数算病徵、计算病发时间、了解病发场合,以及徵状对生活的影响,包括朋辈交往和学习表现等。只要跟着做,便不会把正常小朋友也划进去。况且守则本身也强调,孩子活泼不是病。」

在何定邦医生诊所里出现的家长,有抗拒孩子被断症的,也有抗拒医生不把孩子断症的。「两种人都有,背後想法不同,但对医生来说,病症就只有按精神疾病诊断与统计手册断症出来的那一种。」

读写障碍

另一个增幅很大的类别是读写障碍,这却关乎识别工具的改进。何定邦医生说:「我出道当精神科医生时,读写障碍只有英文测试,但是中国人主要用中文。两种语文无论读音、文字结构、语法都不同,动用不同的大脑迴路。照搬外国的断症方式会带来很大的问号。」

这个问号,到了1998年香港特殊学习困难研究小组成立後,终於得到处理。这个由香港大学心理学系何淑娴博士领导的小组,发展出多项能甄别及评估中文读写障碍的工具,并且持续修订。「有了公认的测试工具,自然会发现更多个案。」

对家长来说,无论个案增加的原因是什麽,断症一刻一样难受。「诊所里常常有家长因为某些网上讨论吓到面青。那些说法未必全然是错,可是片面极端,无法令初接触SEN问题的家长定下心来,甚至因而拒绝求助,错失治疗先机。」何定邦医生鼓励家长多找同路人分享,同时小心挑选观点持平的网上资源。

撰文:苏美智
插图:淡水⁠⁠⁠⁠

前期文章

联络我们

如有任何查询或意见,请填妥下列表格,再按「递交」,我们将会尽快回覆,谢谢!