See Differences, Embrace Diversity

Previous articles

February, 2017

"What is your impression of Siew Man?"
One question triggers an avalanche of discussion among classmates. Teacher transforms indifference into enthusiasm with just a handful of colored paper strips.

Read moreV

"SEN Right - Group Photo" wins the championship of the Equal Opportunities Micro Film Competition launched by the Equal Opportunities Commission. The film opens with a group of secondary students gathering at the hall, following instructions from the photographer – button up, stand up straight, tilt your head to be seen. This is the photoshoot day of Class 1B and class photo requires uniformity and absolute obedience. Their class teacher cannot help but start to worry about Siew Man.

When being asked about their impression of Siew Man, his classmates refer him as "the naughtiest boy in class", "the culprit of late recess" or "a ball hog"; his class teacher, on the other hand, observes that a sullen air of neglect created by other students prompts Siew Man to make himself a nuisance. He often yells in class and runs around between lessons. Once, a parent even complained and asked the teacher to forbid Siew Man from sitting next to his son.

In the film, Siew Man is either misbehaving or sleeping in class, as if he is out of place. In the film, Siew Man is either misbehaving or sleeping in class, as if he is out of place.

Mr. Rex Wong Chun-kit, Educational Psychologist of the Heep Hong Society, has seen many SEN children sharing the experience of Siew Man, albeit a fictional character in the film, in reality. "It may be autistic disorder, or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, or developmental delay – not necessary belong to a particular category. The impression of the teacher and students in the film also rings true."

However, we seldom hear SEN children speak their mind in real life. The micro film uses Siew Man's writing to disclose his thoughts, "If I have a good friend, I wish he would talk to me and explain my mistakes away to teacher."

As with any child, SEN children also desire for friendship, yet their poor communication skills often hamper their efforts to make friends. Mr. Rex Wong points out, "This is the blind spot of many adults, who render SEN children as wayward or disobedient. Adults with such prejudice tend to lose the initiative to make sense of the motives of SEN kids and become incapable of guiding other children to understand them. In fact, their every action tells a story, just that they are not good at explaining themselves."

Things will only take a turn for the better when adults learn to pause and think – do not misread their behaviours as mischief or destructive on purpose.

However, how should we guide other children to learn about the special needs of SEN children? How should we handle the label of SEN in everyday life?

In his writing, Siew Man envisions his good friend as a defender who will explain my mistakes away to teachers. In his writing, Siew Man envisions his good friend as a defender who will "explain my mistakes away to teachers."

"SEN children may be different from many, but there are still a lot of things in common. For instance, they also want to make friends or get snacks during recess. Over-emphasis on their differences may not be the best thing for them," explains Mr. Rex Wong. "No one should be locked into a label, some labels may even become points of mockery among children. Besides guiding children to understand the special needs of SEN children, we also need to stress the uniqueness of every individual and that everyone has different needs so as to minimise the labelling effect."

Unfortunately, the standards of behaviours set by Hong Kong education system present hurdles to SEN children. "We emphasize the importance of collectivity and discipline. As everyone is expected to hit the same bar, we rarely respect or appreciate differences, let alone accepting SEN children from another angle."

He understands that every system sets its own standards, but the one of Hong Kong is definitely far too strict. Only through broadening and diversifying can children begin to explore more possibilities in life.

A box of coloured tissue strips helps children to understand their SEN classmate differently. A box of coloured tissue strips helps children to understand their SEN classmate differently.

In the short film, the class teacher's fear is finally realised when Siew Man tosses paper scraps during the photoshoot, but she manages to hatch the opportunity – she runs to the staff room, grabs a box of coloured paper strips, and gives every student a handful to create the most colourful class photo ever. All students, no matter whether with SEN or not, enjoy a belly laugh. Paper strips contain no magic, we make magic happen together – just open up your mind for a whole new horizon.

Text: So Mei Chi
Translation: Yoyo Chan

Previous articles

Contact Us

If you have any enquiries or suggestions, please fill in the form below and press "Submit", we would respond to you as soon as possible, thank you!

冷眼相看?另眼相看!

前期文章

2017年2月

「你们班的小文是怎样的人?」
一条问题,勾起同学议论纷纷,但老师手上的一堆彩纸,却把班上的冷漠气氛逆转了。

往下阅读V

「冷眼相看,不如另眼相看」是平等机会委员会平等共融微电影创作比赛的冠军作品。在影片开端,中一B班全体同学集合礼堂,听从摄影师指示:谁的钮扣要扣好、谁要站得更直、谁的头要伸出来让相机拍到。这天影班相,而班相讲求整齐划一、排拒逾越,所以班老师悄悄担心起来。她担心小文。

小文是怎样的孩子呢?同学们说:「全班最顽皮」、「每次都连累我们迟放小息」、「独食怪,不传球」。班老师却这样观察:别的同学对他视若无睹,装作看不到,反而令他更刻意骚扰,上堂大叫,转堂乱跑;连家长也投诉,不让儿子坐他旁。

影片里的小文在课堂上不是捣蛋,便是睡着,跟周遭气氛格格不入。 影片里的小文在课堂上不是捣蛋,便是睡着,跟周遭气氛格格不入。

虽说是戏剧,但协康会教育心理学家黄俊杰从小主角身上,看到很多SEN小孩现实中的身影:「可以是自闭症、可以是专注力不足过度活跃、可以是发展迟缓,不必专属一个类别。至于片中师生们的观感也很真实。」

然而,来自SEN小朋友的心底话,在现实中却不容易听得见。短片借小主角的作文来交待:如果我有一位好朋友,希望他会跟我聊天,在我做错事时替我向老师解释。

黄俊杰说,SEN小朋友一样需要朋友,只是不擅表达,交友方式常常没带来好结果,「这也造成很多大人的盲点,觉得这些孩子『曳』、不守规则,失去了解他们的动机,也无法引领别的孩子去认识他们。其实他们每个行为背后都有话想说,只是说不好。」大人要停一停想一想,不误读为恶意,不认定为搅破坏,事情才有转机。

然而,怎样引领其他孩子认识SEN的特殊需要?日常生活里又怎样处理SEN这标签?

小文的作文描述了他心目中的好朋友:「在我做错事情的时候替我跟老师解释。」 小文的作文描述了他心目中的好朋友:「在我做错事情的时候替我跟老师解释。」

「虽然SEN孩子跟其他人有不同,但也有很多相似的地方,譬如都想认识朋友,都想放小息买零食。过度强调某些孩子的不同,也不是好事。」黄俊杰道:「从另一方面看,人不是都能用标签来分类的,有些标签还可能成为孩子间开玩笑的材料。所以,除了引领同学认识个别孩子的特殊需要外,我们也该强调每一个人都是独特的、人人有不同需要,从而淡化标签效应。」

无奈的是,本港的教育制度对个人行为的要求,着实为难了SEN孩子。 「我们很强调集体,很着重守规,希望每个人都达到相同标准,却很少尊重或欣赏差异,从另一个角度去接纳SEN孩子。」他说,每个制度都有自己的一把尺,但香港那把无疑太窄了,必须拓得更阔更多元,才能让孩子发掘出更多人生的可能。

老师怀里的一箱彩纸,助孩子对SEN同学换了看法。 老师怀里的一箱彩纸,助孩子对SEN同学换了看法。

回到「另眼相看」那短片。影班相期间,小文不安份地乱抛纸屑,班老师的担心终于出现了,但她心生一计她跑到教员室掏出一堆彩纸,回来让孩子每人抓一把一起抛高,拍下最缤纷的班照。不论是SEN还是非SEN,孩子们都笑得乐呵呵。彩纸没有魔法,魔法来自我们自己开阔了想像,转换了看法。

前提是别只顾着冷眼相看。

撰文:苏美智

前期文章

联络我们

如有任何查询或意见,请填妥下列表格,再按「递交」,我们将会尽快回覆,谢谢!