Golden Treatment Period: True or False?

Previous articles

February, 2017

The golden period for treatment is often heard of, is there such a period for SEN? What if it is missed?

As the expert says…

Autism: Language Development as the Key

From a medical point of view, there is no defining line for golden treatment period. Dr. Chan Kwok Ling, Head of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry of Queen Mary Hospital, suggests that, according to research, autistic patients who have developed their language skills before the age of five tend to encounter fewer obstacles as they grow up. They demonstrate higher capability of independence and better achievements in studies and work, for instance.

"Research does not aim at imposing a deadline for treatment, but proposes the importance of placing autistic children in a suitable learning environment as early as possible. In light of stages of brain development, five to six years old is a critical period for language development. Poor grasp of language does not only lead to difficult communication with others in long run, but also impede the development of critical thinking due to the fact that thinking and language are inseparable."

Winnie Cheng Ka Man, Speech Therapist of St. James' Settlement Uncle James Child Development Centre, observes, "If parents are not perseverant enough, autistic children will not know that they need to look at others when they solicit help. Early childhood training is important because behavioural patterns are yet to be ascertained and better models are still possible. Otherwise, children can hardly develop their language capability when they are accustomed to pointing, seizing, or fighting to fulfil their wants."

Early Treatment Minimises Learning Setbacks

While the golden period for treating attention deficit/ hyperactivity disorder (AD/HD) lacks research evidence so far, Dr. Chan Kwok Ling nonetheless reminds parents to step in as early as possible to help children develop interest in learning and integrate into school life without being deflated by potential setbacks. "The more delayed the treatment for AD/HD is, the harder for children to adapt to classroom arrangements and the more likely to demonstrate resistant behaviours. With lower self-esteem, they are also less likely to be admitted to university when they grow up and more vulnerable to emotional disorders and risky behaviours like substance abuse."

AD/HD is mostly diagnosed between K3 and primary grades – the key period for treatment.

Dr. Chan Kwok Ling explains, "This is a Hong Kong-specific situation. Once admitted to primary school, children are required to sit through class after class imposed by the schedule. The lack of interactions in conventional schooling also attributes to the aggravation of AD/HD symptoms, which usually become what teachers conceive as behavioural problems."

Primary grades are often deemed the honeymoon period – pressure is yet to loom large, teachers and friends are more tolerant of impulsive behaviours. "Seize the chance and arrange suitable therapy and training to help your children sit still, so as to be less antagonistic to school and avoid postponing homework until late at night. Their confidence and interests in learning can thus be built. Otherwise, they may give themselves up and refuse to attend secondary school when the gap between them and their peers grows wider."

A long waiting list for subsidised service is already in place when parents come to recognise the necessity for treatment – how to take full advantage of the golden period? Dr. Chan Kwok Ling suggests parents to consult a private psychiatrist first, if finance allows. "After having acquired a diagnosis, parents can utilise resources available at school and social sectors, such as to seek help from school social worker and psychologist or apply for concession from a social service institution."

Training While Caring

Dr. Chan Kwok Ling also reminds parents not to overwhelm their children with training. "Some parents are overly eager for training and may book a full schedule of meeting with therapists for their children, thus compromise their family time. Please bear in mind that SEN children, like all other children, need entertainment, rest, and time with their parents."

Text: So Mei Chi
Illustration: Tamshui
Translation: Yoyo Chan

Previous articles

Contact Us

If you have any enquiries or suggestions, please fill in the form below and press "Submit", we would respond to you as soon as possible, thank you!

黃金治療期是真的嗎?

前期文章

2017年2月

常聽說要把握黃金治療期,究竟SEN的黃金治療期是什麼?錯過了會怎樣?

專家這樣說⋯

自閉症:發展語言是關鍵

對於黃金治療期,醫學上沒有一條清晰的分界線,但瑪麗醫院兒童及青少年精神科主管陳國齡醫生指出,確有研究發現自閉症患者倘若能在五歲之前發展語言,往後的成長會更順利,譬如獨立生活的機會較高、在學業和工作上取得較好成就等。

「研究不旨在訂立『治療期限』,而是提出我們該盡早把自閉症孩子放到合適的學習環境中。畢竟從大腦發展階段出發,五、六歲前也是學習語言的關鍵期。語言把握不好,日後便更難與人溝通,也會影響思維發展,因為思考同樣涉及語言。」

聖雅各福群會樂寧兒童發展中心言語治療師鄭家雯這樣觀察:「如果父母不堅持,自閉症孩子不會知道要別人替你拿東西,原來得望着人家說話。在幼兒階段接受訓練很重要,因為這時候的行為尚未定型,容易建立較理想的模式,否則他們慢慢習慣了用指的、搶的、或者打人來達到目的,便更難發展言語了。」

及早治療減少學習生涯的挫敗

至於專注力不足/過度活躍症,雖然沒有同類研究來引證黃金治療期,但陳國齡醫生一樣提醒要盡早介入。這樣是為了幫助小朋友發展學習興趣,融入學校生活,不致於在求學生涯中屢經挫敗,「AD/HD愈延醫,孩子愈難適應課堂安排,愈容易出現對抗行為,長大後入大學機率較低,自尊感較低,也更容易有情緒病和濫用藥物等高危行為。」

這個症狀多在幼稚園高班至小學低年級之間確診,這正是治療關鍵。

陳國齡解釋:「這關乎香港的獨特情況。小朋友升上小學後,功課一下子變多,必須在堂上坐定定接受時間表的規範,加上傳統的教學方式缺少互動,也容易令AD/HD的徵狀惡化,成老師眼中的『行為問題』。」

初小尚算「蜜月期」 學業壓力未達高峰、老師和朋輩比較包容衝動行為。「把握時機,用適當的治療和訓練,可以幫助小朋友安坐,令他們不那麼排斥上課,不必晚晚拖到半夜才完成功課,建立自信和學習興趣。要不,待他們跟同輩的差距擴大,就可能放棄自己,升中後甚至拒絕上學。」

然而,即使家長明白治療需要,卻遲遲未輪候到資助服務,如何把握黃金期?陳國齡醫生建議他們在經濟許可的情況下,先向私人執業的精神科專科醫生求診,「診斷出來了,便可以善用學校和社區資源,譬如尋求駐校社工和心理學家協助,或向社會服務機構申請減費服務。」

訓練不忘親子

陳國齡醫生尚有一點提醒:爸爸媽媽別把孩子訓練過頭。「有些父母因為急於訓練,走到另一極端,把孩子見治療師的時間排得密密麻麻,反而減少親子互動的機會。請記住,SEN孩子也是孩子,需要娛樂、休息,也需要親子時間。」

撰文:蘇美智
插圖:淡水

前期文章

聯絡我們

如有任何查詢或意見,請填妥下列表格,再按「遞交」,我們將會儘快回覆,謝謝!