Can't Sit Still = AD/HD?

Previous articles

April, 2017

"Wriggling in seat during homework time is attributed to disorder; sitting stock-still for video games is not a problem - what kind of AD/HD is this?" This is said to be the reason that has infuriated a lot of parents, who consider their children naughty because they are able but reluctant to sit still. How is attention deficit/ hyperactivity disorder (AD/HD) diagnosed? How can we understand children's reluctance to sit still and, subsequently, how can such understanding help?

As the expert says...

Rex Wong Chun-kit, Educational Psychologist of Heep Hong Society, highlights that occasional sitting still does not mean a proof of no AD/HD and assessment should not be based on their performance at playtime alone. In fact, closer observation can reveal that AD/HD children find it more difficult to concentrate than children of the same age even during playtime. However, it is slightly different in the case of video games from that of ordinary games, because the former's on-going changes pose vigorous stimuli to concentration.

Assessment Comprises Three Areas

As Rex Wong explains, the assessment of AD/HD comprises three areas including clinical trials by doctors or psychologists and observations from school and home. Diagnosis is based on a clear set of criteria. Apart from restlessness, other symptoms include inattention, impulsivity, and over-talkativeness. These symptoms must be observed in two or more settings (particularly at home and school) and have persisted for at least six consecutive months, exclusive of any adaptation issues due to unusual circumstances.

"We can hardly expect children to stay in their seats for long when they are first admitted to primary school. Inattention tends to improve gradually over time. The diagnosis can only be confirmed when teachers of different subjects share the same observation that the child is always fidgeting while seated and can't help leaving his/her seat."

Different activities solicit different levels of attention. Interesting ones are thrilling and engaging whereas recitation is distressing – but doesn't everyone feel the same? Rex Wong says that AD/HD children demonstrate such reactions more vividly. Adults can help by adjusting their children's ways of learning accordingly.

Adaptive Learning to Reinforce

"Preparation for dictation, for instance, can start and span over a few days beforehand. Each session should complete in fifteen minutes so that children can see the outcome more quickly and are more likely to be reinforced by immediate success."

"At school, most teachers incline to place AD/HD children on the front row for easier care-taking. Teachers will check if the children can grasp the lesson content through activities and questions every once in a while. Students in senior primary grades are taught how to jot notes during class and focus with the help of images because visual cues can help children with self-regulation." Different methods suit the needs of different children. One important reminder for adults from Rex Wong: telling is not the only way to remind your children, neither is punishment.

"Punishment alone leads children to feel not being understood by their parents and teachers. To strengthen our relationships, we need these children to know that adults are trying to help them with various ways. Parents need to adjust their expectation and plan solutions together with kids. Adults need to believe that children also want to better themselves as they grow older."

In regard to drug use for treating AD/HD, Rex Wong concludes from the current medical research that the most effective way is still the combination of drugs and behavioural therapy, though every case is unique and needs diagnosis by doctor. Parents and teachers must understand that no drug is a panacea and it must be paired up with adaptive teaching strategies. According to recent news reports, some parents mistake medication for AD/HD as a "smart drug" and request prescription for their children who are not diagnosed. Rex Wong regards such move as unwise, "I am shocked by such short-sightedness. Drug use without doctor's advice may not only be detrimental to children, it also delivers a dreadful message that they can solely rely on drugs to reach their goals without needing to put in any hard work. It does not, by any means, help children to build their confidence."

AD/HD or not, learning to trust our children is an essential lesson for adults after all.

Text: So Mei Chi
Illustration: Tamshui
Translation: Yoyo Chan

Previous articles

Contact Us

If you have any enquiries or suggestions, please fill in the form below and press "Submit", we would respond to you as soon as possible, thank you!

坐不定就是AD/HD?

前期文章

2017年4月

「做功課坐不定就説有病,打機坐定定就沒問題,哪裏是AD/HD?」據説這是很多家長發飆的原因:覺得孩子非不能也,實不為也,還不是曳嗎?究竟專注力不足/過度活躍症(AD/HD)的診斷是怎樣來的?如何理解孩子坐不定這行為?了解後又可以怎樣幫助?

專家這樣說⋯

協康會教育心理學家黃俊傑説,偶爾坐得定不等如沒AD/HD,尤其不能只用孩子玩樂時的表現作準。其實只要多觀察就能發現,即使是玩樂,AD/HD小朋友也比同齡孩子更難維持專注力。但他指出,電子遊戲跟一般遊戲又有點不同,因為那些遊戲畫面持續不斷的變化,根本就是對專注力的大刺激。

評估涉及三個範疇

他指出,AD/HD評估的資料來源有三個方面,包括醫生或心理學家的臨牀測試,以及來自學校和家庭的觀察。診斷有明確準則,除了坐不定,還有不集中、容易衝動、説話太多等,這些表現必須在至少兩個生活情景(尤其是學校和家庭),至少持續出現六個月,並且排除因適應問題而導致的異常情況。

「譬如初升小學,我們很難期望小朋友長時間安坐,那些不集中的表現會隨着時間慢慢改善。假如小朋友不是偶一為之,而是經常在堂上不自覺地左搖右擺,走出座位,兼且不同科目的老師都有類似觀察,才能算進去。」

至於在不同活動中展現不同程度的專注力,有樂趣的興奮投入,反覆背誦的想逃説穿了,不也是人之常情嗎?黃俊傑説,AD/HD小朋友在這方面的表現更明顯,而大人能為他們做到的,就是因應這特性來調節學習方式。

調整學習方式增強成功感

「例如預習默書,我們可以提早開始,分開幾日,每次用十五分鐘來完成,那麼小朋友便可以更快看到收獲,也更容易得到成功感。

「在學校,老師一般會讓AD/HD的孩子坐在較前位置,方便照顧提醒,每隔一段短時間更會用活動和提問,了解小朋友是否掌握課堂內容。至於升上高小的同學,可以教導他們邊上課邊做筆記,透過文字和圖畫來自我提醒。因為圖像提示也能幫助小朋友自我管理。」不同小朋友適合不同方法,但黃俊傑請大人記住一個重點:不能獨沽一味只用説話來提醒,更加不能只是責罰。

「一味責罰會令小朋友覺得父母和師長不明白自己,我們要讓這些小朋友知道,大人正努力嘗試不同的方法來幫助他們,這才能鞏固我們之間的關係。這很重要:溝通關係一旦破壞了,所有努力都不會有效果。家長要調整期望,跟孩子一起想辦法。要相信,隨着成長,小朋友也想努力做好自己的。」

有關藥物治療AD/HD,黃俊傑説,根據目前的研究文獻,最有效的方法依然是藥物和行為治療雙管齊下,但每個個案情況不同,視乎醫生診斷。家長和老師必須理解的是,藥物不是萬靈丹,必須配合調整教養/教學方式。而報道指有家長誤以為藥物是「聰明藥」,沒診斷也要求服用,黃俊傑直指不智,「我很驚訝竟然有人有這種短視的看法。如果沒醫生建議,服藥可能對孩子有壞影響,也向孩子傳遞了一個壞訊息:不必努力,只靠藥物來達到目標,這樣對他們建立自信心沒有幫助。 」

説到底,有AD/HD還是沒有,相信小朋友,也是大人要學的一課。

撰文:蘇美智
插圖:淡水

前期文章

聯絡我們

如有任何查詢或意見,請填妥下列表格,再按「遞交」,我們將會儘快回覆,謝謝!