The Unclassified = Developmental Delay?

Previous articles

June, 2017

Some parents regard "developmental delay" as the most confusing in the SEN field. Like the last one left in elimination, doctors do not have a concrete idea and there is less information on its symptoms, therapy, developmental trajectory, and adaptation to adulthood compared to other disorders. How should we understand the diagnosis of developmental delay?

As the expert says...

According to Dr Ellis Hon, Professor of the Department of Paediatrics at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, paediatricians mainly have two focuses – growth and development. Growth refers to the increase in height, weight, head circumference, and other measurements as the infant grows up; development is a continuous process with an almost-magical sequence of milestones.

For instance, when does the infant hold his/her neck to lift his/her head? When does he/she sit up? When does he/she walk the very first step? Can the baby hold things with his/her tiny hands? When does he/she start putting words together? Does the four-week-old infant smile at his/her mother's face? Between nine months and one year of age, is the baby stressed by the sight of strangers? Does he/she enjoy the company of peers?

Paediatricians are keen to identify milestones in gross and fine motor, language, and social development. They tend to consider a ten-month-old infant who cannot sit up by himself/herself rather alarming. Yet, everyone has a slightly different development because the onset and sequence of these milestones are affected by factors including genetics, environment, upbringing and learning. A child who lags behind his/her peers significantly is deemed to have developmental delay. As written on the Child Assessment Service brochure issued by the Department of Health, developmental delay "is a condition whereby pre-school children fail to acquire the skills appropriate for their respective ages. The delay can be obvious in some children, while it may be minimal in others."

To most parents, autistic disorder and AD/HD are telling in themselves. These tags come with a wide range of information on diagnosis, therapy, developmental trajectory and other aspects. Developmental delay, however, seems to lack further elaboration the child does exhibit delay in development, but apart from that, limited references are available.

"True, developmental delay is less clear. Yet, every cloud has a silver lining and such uncertainty may imply a better development to look forward to. In fact, most cases are rather mild. The causes of developmental delay, which many parents want to figure out, are nothing too surprising."

Genetic factors, such as chromosomal abnormalities or hereditary diseases, play a part. Pregnancy and birth factors include fetal alcohol syndrome caused by excessive alcohol intake during pregnancy and fetal exposure to contaminants. Illness, poisoning or brain injury during infancy can lead to developmental delay. It can also be attributed to environmental factors, including a lack of social and language stimulations.

Dr Ellis Hon also reveals that all these together only account for a minority of cases. The cause in most cases is largely unknown. Whether or not a complete picture can be assembled, what has happened cannot be undone.

"Instead of spending time to investigate the causes, parents should start training as soon as possible. Focus on what you can do to help your children thrive and perform to the best of their abilities," advises Dr Ellis Hon.

After all, development delay is an inclusive term that encompasses areas including motor, language, social, intellectual capabilities. Every child has a distinct focus on training. Only by matching with the relevant professionals (such as speech therapist or physiotherapist) can offer children the best step-by-step assistance.

Text: So Mei Chi
Illustration: Tamshui
Translation: Yoyo Chan

Previous articles

Contact Us

If you have any enquiries or suggestions, please fill in the form below and press "Submit", we would respond to you as soon as possible, thank you!

分不了類的就叫發展遲緩?

前期文章

2017年6月

有家長説,「發展遲緩」是SEN範疇中最教人迷惘的。像是被人用摒除法減剩下來的問題,連醫生也無以名之,徵狀、治療、發展軌跡和成年後的生活適應等資訊,全都比別的病症少。我們應該怎樣了解那四個字的診斷?

專家這樣說⋯

香港中文大學兒科學系教授韓錦倫醫生説,兒科醫生主要看兩件事:生長和發展。生長的意思是嬰孩隨年歲長大,高度、體重、頭圍等都會增加;發展則是持續過程,而且很神奇地彷彿早就定下先後次序,可以看成一個個里程碑。

譬如説,何時能控制頸部抬起小小頭顱?何時坐起?何時走第一步?小嬰兒能用小手拿東西嗎?什麼時候可以把幾個單字串連一起講?四周大時望到媽媽的臉會笑嗎?九個月至一歲時,看到陌生人懂得焦慮沒有?何時發現與同伴一起玩,原來更好玩?

兒科醫生很習慣偵出這些里程碑,包括大小肌肉的、言語的、社交的,一看到嬰孩十個月大仍然未曉得坐,便響起警號。可是它們啟動的先後程序受到遺傳、環境、成長與學習等因素影響,人人都有一點差異。如果一個孩童的發展,與大部分孩童比起來明顯落後,便是遲緩了。根據衛生署兒童體能智力測驗服務小冊子,發展遲緩指「學前兒童未達到該年齡應有的能力,差距程度可以由少許到明顯。」

對很多家長來説,自閉症就是自閉症、AD/HD就是AD/HD,這些標籤背後伴隨大堆資訊,包括診斷、治療、發展軌道等等。偏偏發展遲緩似乎無以名之 孩子的發展確實是慢了,但除此之外,參考資訊相對貧乏含糊。

韓錦倫醫生説:「確實比較含糊。從好的方面看,這種不確定,也代表日後可能有較好的發展。事實上,大部分發展遲緩的個案都是輕微的。也有家長渴望知道發展遲緩的原因,但來來去去不外乎幾種。」

當中有先天性的,如染色體病變或遺傳疾病。有懷孕或生產時出岔子的,如媽媽在懷孕時飲酒過多導致胎兒酒精綜合症,或胎兒受特殊感染。至於嬰兒出生後,也可能因為染病、中毒或腦部受損而導致發展遲緩。環境因素如缺乏社交或言語啟發,也是肇因。

不過韓錦倫醫生指出,即使把這些原因全部加起來,亦只佔整體個案的少數,餘下來的大部分依然原因不明,而且即使成功弄個明白,發生了的也都無法逆轉。

「我建議家長,與其花心力尋根究柢,不如及早展開訓練,幫助小朋友好好發揮,在能力範圍內做到最好。」韓錦倫醫生說。

畢竟發展遲緩是個概括説法,之下可以細分為動作、言語、社交、智力等能力範疇,每個兒童有不同的訓練重點。配對了相關專業,如言語治療師和物理治療師等,才能按步就班,為孩子提供最適切的幫助。

撰文:蘇美智
插圖:淡水

前期文章

聯絡我們

如有任何查詢或意見,請填妥下列表格,再按「遞交」,我們將會儘快回覆,謝謝!