Life, Animated: A Story of Sidekicks, Heroes, and Autism

Previous articles

April, 2017

The little boy, who loves laughing and dancing, succumbs all of a sudden to a curse shortly before his third birthday. Like being locked in a cave, he retreats into silence, walks wobbly, lies wide awake all night. His parents have searched far and wide for medical help and their search finally ends on the word "autism". Life, Animated, nominated for Academy Award 2016 for Best Documentary Feature, gives real insight into the family and daily life of a person on the autistic spectrum. His confrontation, as an adult, with growth, independence, breaking up, and employment also embodies a journey full of love and hope.

Read moreV
One day, the lively and talkative Owen vanished…… One day, the lively and talkative Owen vanished……

Disney Animations as the Key

Life, Animated is adapted from the book of the same title written by Ron Suskind, a Pulitzer-winning journalist and father to his autistic son Owen Suskind.

"Someone has kidnapped my son!" When Ron first noticed Owen's abnormalities, the father was overwhelmed by panic, perplexity, helplessness, and many many questions. In hopes of unlocking the dark room that caged their son, Ron and his wife Cornelia quickly recollected themselves and kicked off a chain of emergency procedures – taking Owen to various experts, drawing up a series of rehabilitation strategies for his personal, school and social life.

The key, much to everyone's surprise, has been right under their noses all the time – Owen's Disney animated favourites. Ron realised one day that Owen came out of his silent state and started talking to the animated characters! Not only could he memorise all the dialogues and storylines, he could also recall every cast and crew name on the long list of closing credits.

Disney cartoons became Owen's only window to the world and have also built a bridge for him to communicate with people in reality.

Disney cartoons is Owen's only window to the world and his father can only cling to playing Disney characters to communicate with his son. Disney cartoons is Owen's only window to the world and his father can only cling to playing Disney characters to communicate with his son.

Not All Restricted Interests are as Vibrant

Dr. Chan Kwok Ling, Head of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry of Queen Mary Hospital, regards Owen's obsession with Disney animations – reciting all the lines and watching certain scenes on repeat – as a "restricted interest", which is one of the core symptoms of autism spectrum disorder (ASD).

"Owen is relatively lucky," says Dr. Chan. "His restricted interest comprises lively story plots and scenarios that are textually and visually rich. The binary opposition of hero and villain offers a clear distinction of right and wrong. No doubt this window helps him to comprehend and connect to the real world. Unfortunately, typical restricted interests of most ASD patients are objects like trains, buses, numbers or preferences for route maps, schedules, stock chart patterns, which are not as useful for their emotional development."

Ron has also experienced a huge setback in real life for that matter. Astonished, he shared his discovery to a therapist who then gave him the cold shoulder, saying that repeating lines were "meaningless parrot mimicking, mostly likely. We probably should come up with some solutions to control his over-passionate obsession before it gets out of hand..."

Adult Patients Face Higher Hurdles

The documentary features various life scenarios of the adult Owen, including one scene where a room full of therapists along with Owen and his parents gather together to discuss his life after graduation. It shows how much effort is needed to leap over one hurdle after another – can he live independently after leaving school? Is he capable of developing a social circle? What kind of job should he look for? What should he do to handle a breakup? Does he know anything about sex?

"What can be done to help these children transit smoothly into adulthood? This question is certainly worthy of our investigation, especially when Hong Kong has such a huge room for improvement. A number of non-profit organisations have been introducing corresponding services. Support for job hunt and interview, briefing of patient's personality profile to his/her employer, for instance, are provided for them to better adapt to a workplace. The Hospital Authority is also planning on similar services to assist with life planning for patients aged over 16."

Owen's graduation is emotional. It is an accomplishment by no means easy to adult ASD patients. For the road ahead, in order to live a life of his own, tremendous courage and endurance are indispensable. Owen's graduation is emotional. It is an accomplishment by no means easy to adult ASD patients. For the road ahead, in order to live a life of his own, tremendous courage and endurance are indispensable.

What counts as a meaningful life?

"I really appreciate Owen's parents for their unfailing patience and love for Owen and, of course, his elder brother. The most precious of all is that their love is not spoiling or overbearing, but embodies positive understanding and encouraging acceptance. Owen can then gather his courage to take his first step and embrace difficulties ahead." Dr. Chan believes that parents in the same boat will find the documentary incredibly uplifting.

Adolescence is a storm in itself to every family, the difficulties it brings to families with SEN children are beyond imagination.

Owen in the documentary is already taller than his mum, whose hair has already turned white. When she looks at her inarticulate but cheerful son, she cannot help but ask herself, "Who exactly gets to decide what a meaningful life is?" Her question is worth for all of us to think about.

Text: Cheng Kam Sze
Translation: Yoyo Chan

Previous articles

Contact Us

If you have any enquiries or suggestions, please fill in the form below and press "Submit", we would respond to you as soon as possible, thank you!

《動畫醫神》 消失的男孩

前期文章

2017年4月

愛笑愛跳的小男孩,三歲生日前的某一天,突然像被施了魔咒一樣,無法說話、走路顛簸、徹夜不眠,被困在只有自己的洞穴裏。父母遍尋名醫,最後聽到「自閉症」三個字……入圍2016奧斯卡最佳紀錄片的《Life, animated》,呈現一個自閉症譜系障礙患者家庭日常的種種,特別是成年患者如何面對成長、獨立、失戀、工作……裏頭有滿滿的愛和希望。

往下閱讀V
影片裡的小文在課堂上不是搗蛋,便是睡着,跟周遭氣氛格格不入。 愛玩又會說話的歐文,有一天突然消失了……

藏在迪士尼卡通裏的鑰匙

電影取材自《消失的男孩》一書,作者是普立茲獎記者榮恩.蘇斯金,也就是自閉男孩歐文.蘇斯金的父親。

“Someone has kidnapped my son!”(有人綁架了我的兒子!)這是榮恩發現歐文出現異常行為時的反應驚恐、失措、徬徨、無助,腦袋塞滿問號。不過很快地,他和妻子柯妮莉亞便啟動了緊急應變措施,帶着歐文去見不同的專家,從生活、學業以至社交,制訂連串復康策略,希望能儘快尋得開啟黑洞的鑰匙。

萬料不到,鑰匙就藏在歐文一直喜歡的迪士尼卡通裏。榮恩有天發現,失去語言能力的歐文,竟對着迪士尼卡通裏的人物說話!不但如此,他還能背誦角色中所有對白及情節,甚至連片尾工作人員的清單都牢牢記住。

迪士尼卡通成了歐文了解世界的唯一窗口,同時也建構了他與外界溝通的重要橋樑。

影片裡的小文在課堂上不是搗蛋,便是睡着,跟周遭氣氛格格不入。 迪士尼卡通是歐文唯一了解外界的窗口,爸爸也就只有抓緊這線索,扮卡通人物跟兒子溝通。

不是所有狹窄興趣都如此豐富

瑪麗醫院兒童及青少年精神科主管陳國齡醫生形容,歐文沉迷迪士尼卡通,背誦所有情節對白,不斷重複翻看某些場面,屬「狹窄興趣」的一種這正是給自閉症譜系障礙患者斷症時的重要條件。

「歐文是相對幸運的。」陳醫生說:「這是因為他的『狹窄興趣』有豐富的情節、圖文並茂、是非分明,而且裏頭有故事有場景,有英雄有壞蛋,依靠這個窗口,確有助他理解及連繋現實世界。可惜的是,典型自閉症譜系障礙患者所擁有的『狹窄興趣』,一般都是死物如火車、巴士、數字等,偏愛路線圖、班次表、股票升跌分析圖等,無助情感發展。」

也因此,爸爸榮恩在現實中曾經碰上一鼻子灰。當他興致勃勃跑去跟治療師報告他的驚人發現時歐文會說對白呢!對方只冷淡的回應說,那極可能是無意義的「鸚鵡學舌」,而且為防他越走越偏,似乎得想辦法抑制他那過分的熱情……

成年患者的重重關卡

影片大量描述了成年歐文面對的各種處境,其中一幕,歐文與父母及一整個治療師團隊圍坐房中,商討他畢業後的去向。脫離學校後,可以獨立生活了嗎?能發展社交圈嗎?要找一份怎樣的工作?碰上失戀怎麼辦?知道性為何物嗎?一重又一重的關卡,得花上無比力氣才能跨越。

「如何讓這些孩子順利過渡到成年階段,確是一個值得關注的課題,香港在這方面還有很大的進步空間。近年不同的非牟利組織已開始推行這類服務,如協助他們找工作、面試,向僱主講解他們的特性,讓他們更好地融入職場等。醫管局亦考慮開展相關服務,協助十六歲以上患者作生涯規劃。」

影片裡的小文在課堂上不是搗蛋,便是睡着,跟周遭氣氛格格不入。 歐文畢業的一幕讓人激動。成年自閉症譜系障礙患者能走到這一步,確不容易,前路同樣需要無比勇氣與毅力,才可走出屬於自己的人生。

怎樣才算有意義的人生?

「我最欣賞歐文的父母,他們以無比耐性陪伴孩子成長,當然還有很愛錫他的哥哥。最難得的是,那種並非事事遷就的溺愛,而是正面的、帶着理解與包容的鼓勵,讓歐文鼓起勇氣踏前一步,迎難而上。」陳醫生相信,這片對同路人家長極具鼓勵作用。

青春期對家庭而言本是一場風暴,對SEN孩子的家庭,那種艱巨更超乎想像。

片中的歐文都長得比媽媽高了,滿頭白髮的媽媽,望着仍然不善對答卻經常笑意盈盈的兒子,不禁自問:「究竟是誰決定何謂有意義的人生?」值得我們每一個人思考。

撰文:陳琴詩

前期文章

聯絡我們

如有任何查詢或意見,請填妥下列表格,再按「遞交」,我們將會儘快回覆,謝謝!